Field Meetings

Travel is by members’ cars or possibly a minibus if the numbers are sufficient, with costs shared between members at a standard rate. When a visit requires specific equipment – for instance hard hats, torches, wellingtons, high visibility jackets – you will be notified in advance.
Booking lists for the forthcoming field meetings are displayed at each lecture, but please contact David if you miss a lecture and want to know the details or book a place.
If you have suggestions for visits or would like to lead one, David would be delighted to hear from you. David Ward - 01344 483563
Use this button to send David an email. Field Meetings Secretary

Safety on field meetings is taken very seriously. Should you be unsure about either the risks involved or your ability to participate, you must seek advice from the leader. Please make sure you understand the risk assessment offered by the leader of the meeting and that you have the safety equipment specified. You must declare, at the time of booking, any disabilities or medical conditions that may affect your ability to safely attend this field meeting. In order to ensure the safety of all participants, the RGS reserves the right to limit or refuse attendance at field meetings. Minors must be accompanied by a parent, or another adult who accepts responsibility for the minor.

Forthcoming Field Meetings

All the forthcoming field meetings for this year are listed below. Where any further details are available a details link will be shown.
To see a list of past meetings click the button.

Field Meeting Archive

2018-12Friday 14 December 2018

Dorking

Dorking Museum and Denbies Winery tour

Leader: Prof. Richard Selley,  Imperial College
Details


Sunday 20 January 2019

Workshop meeting at Holly House

Rocks, Minerals and Fossils; cutting and polishing; quiz

Leader: David Ward,  RGS
Details


Sunday 17 February 2019

Swindon Railway Cutting

Jurassic/Cretaceous



Sunday 17 March 2019

Clatford Bottom

Sarsens and Archeology



Sunday 14 April 2019

Barr Beacon

Triassic Sandstones



Friday 17 May 2019
until Monday 20 May 2019

St Austell and West Cornwell



Sunday 16 June 2019

Carboniferous Grit Quarry, South Wales

Plant fossils



Sunday 21 July 2019

Southam Pit

Jurassic clays



Sunday 18 August 2019

Upware Quarry, Cambridgeshire

Cretaceous



Friday 20 September 2019
until Monday 23 September 2019

Fforest Fawr Geopark, Brecon Beacons



Sunday 20 October 2019

Isle of Purbeck, Dorset



Saturday 2 November 2019
until Sunday 3 November 2019

GA Festival of Geology

Field meetings on Sunday



Sunday 17 November 2019

Wicklesham Pit, Oxfordshire

Faringdon Sponge Gravels



Friday 13 December 2019

Museum visit (provisional date)



Programme 2019

The programme for 2019 as currently proposed is also available as a pdf document.

Other programmes

Previous years programmes and other programme information can be found on the About us page.