Lectures

Lectures are open to all and there is no charge for admission. However regular attendees are expected to be members of the society.
Lectures are usually held as detailed below.

Time:
7:45pm for 8:00pm

Venue:
Lectures are currently all held via Zoom.
Members are sent the joining link by email.
Non-members wishing to join a lecture can request this using the registration link when shown. Requests should always be made at least 24hrs before the start time.

Show Map

Forthcoming Lectures

All the forthcoming lectures for this year are listed below. If available posters for these lectures can be found via the poster link. Where an abstract is available a details link will be shown.
To see a list of past lectures click the button.
Lecture Archive

2021-09Monday 6 September 2021

Evolution of flowering plants, especially in relation to Darwin's "abominable mystery"

A Zoom talk. Members will be sent joining details.

Prof Richard Buggs,  Queen Mary College, University of London
Event Details


2021-10Monday 4 October 2021

Cambrian Explosion

A Zoom talk. Members will be sent joining details.

Dr Luke Parry,  St Edmund Hall, University of Oxford
Event Details


2021-11Monday 1 November 2021

Ireland's geology and landscape

A Zoom talk. Members will be sent joining details.

Dr Michael J. Simms,  Senior Curator of Natural Sciences, National Museums NI
Event Details


Monday 6 December 2021

Lecture TBA



Monday 10 January 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 7 February 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 7 March 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 4 April 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 9 May 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 6 June 2022

Evening Geological Ramble


Event Details

This event will have an alternative venue/time see details.


Monday 4 July 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 1 August 2022

Evening Geological Ramble


Event Details

This event will have an alternative venue/time see details.


Monday 5 September 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 3 October 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 7 November 2022

Lecture TBA



Monday 5 December 2022

Lecture TBA



Programme 2021

The programme for 2021 as currently proposed is also available as a pdf document.

Other programmes

Previous years programmes and other programme information can be found on the About us page.